Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
  • National Council of Science Museums
  • National Council of Science Museums

National Council of Science Museums

Records Available In:English, Hindi, Bengali


Total Collections


National Council of Science Museums (NCSM), a premier institution in the field of science communication, is an autonomous organization under the Ministry of Culture, Government of India. Primarily engaged in popularizing science and technology through a network of science centres, Mobile Science Exhibitions (MSE) units that visit rural schools and a plethora of activities for public and students, in particular, NCSM has now become a trendsetter in the field of science communication both at the national and international level. Presently NCSM, with its Headquarters in Kolkata, administers and manages 25 science museums/centres spread across the country and is the world’s largest network of science centres and museums that functions under a single administrative umbrella with an annual reach to about 14.5 million people. Innovation Hubs set up by NCSM, provide expert guidance and professional lab equipment facilities to young students to nurture creativity, innovation and engagement in science. 34 hubs are functional in science centres across the country reaching around 4.0 lakhs students annually and 21 more are in the making.
Science Centres under NCSM
1. National Council of Science Museums (Hqrs), & Central Research & Training Laboratory(CRTL), Kolkata,
2. Science City , Kolkata,
3. Regional Science Centre , Bhubaneswar,
4. Dhenkanal Science Centre and Kapilas Science Park, Dhenkanal,
5. Birla Industrial & Technological Museum, Kolkata,
6. Shrikrishna Science Centre, Patna,
7. North Bengal Science Centre, Silguri ,
8. District Science Centre , Purulia,
9. Bardhaman Science Centre, Bardhaman,
10. Digha Science Centre, Digha,
11. Nehru Science Centre , Mumbai,
12. Raman Science Centre & Planetarium, Nagpur,
13. Regional Science Centre, Bhopal,
14. Regional Science Centre & Planetarium, Calicut,
15. District Science Centre , Dharampur,
16. Goa Science Centre , Panaji,
17. National Science Centre , Delhi,
18. Regional Science City Lucknow,
19. Kurukshetra Panorama & Science Centre, Kurukshetra,
20. Visvesaraya Industrial & Technological Museums, Bangalore ,
21. Regional Science Centre, Tirupati ,
22. District Science Centre , Tirunelveli,
23. District Science Centre , Gulbarga, District has been renamed as Kalaburagi,
24. Regional Science Centre, Guwahati,


Address: 33, Block-GN, Sector-V, Bidhan Nagar, Kolkata – 700091
Established: 4th April, 1978
Institution Head: Shri A. D. Choudhury, Director General
Hours: Monday to Friday – 9:30 am to 6 pm
Phone: (033) 23579347, 23570850, 23575545